Returning to Rabwah

“And proclaim the favour of your Lord” (Qur’an 93: 12)

In the summer I returned to Pakistan after 3 years for the greatest honour of my life – to lead a teacher training programme with the Ahmadiyya Muslim community’s Directorate of Education (Nazarat Taleem) in Rabwah, where my mother was born and attended school. I first went in 2017 at the blessed request of His Holiness Mirza Masroor Ahmad, Caliph of the worldwide Ahmadiyya community. Due to Covid, the training had to be conducted virtually in 2020 and 2021.

This year the training was attended by more than 140 teachers including principals and vice-principals across subjects from 8 schools and colleges covering a range of teaching techniques. With exams resuming, the focus was on revision strategies, designing multiple choice questions (MCQs) and knowledge quizzes. Here I showcased the excellent work of UK practitioners Katie Jones, Dawn Cox, Joe Kinnaird and others providing engaging and effective ways of quizzing and testing, recapping on prior learning and retrieval practice.

One of the most unforgettable moments was when a team of about a dozen officials from Pakistan’s Department of Education visiting the Directorate’s schools walked in unexpectedly during my seminar and sat in briefly to observe. My first experience of an overseas Ofsted-style inspection!

Various schools invited me to meet staff, observe lessons across different subjects, give motivational assemblies on ‘How to be a successful student’ and deliver English lessons on letter and CV writing. Teachers were keen for me to see them implement some of the strategies I had shared with their classes, such as the Cornell note taking method.

Students were given the opportunity to ask me a whole range of questions. They were curious about so many things about the UK including whether English is taught as a subject and kids have to wear school uniform, if I had ever met His Holiness and what fitness advice I could give!

It was also both humbling and uplifting to visit the SEND centre in Rabwah where fantastic work is being done in very challenging circumstances. Students develop skills in a range of disciplines including weaving, origami, drawing and crafting.

It was another beautiful and moving experience working with dedicated staff and students who have an exemplary passion for learning. This is despite the prejudice and persecution still faced by Ahmadiyya Muslims there. Tragically an Ahmadi, Naseer Ahmad (aged 62), was killed because of his faith not far from where I was staying, ironically on ‘National Minorities Day’ – a sobering reminder of the ongoing difficulties and discrimination experienced by Ahmadis.

Still, inspired by His Holiness, Ahmadi students continue to excel in education and consistently achieve the best outcomes in the Punjab province. They are also unwavering in their loyalty to the country and take pride in their nation, as I witnessed on Pakistan Independence Day. Even in the face of hate, His Holiness champions love and reminds Ahmadis to educate. This is what the Directorate of Education in Rabwah is 100% committed to.

Visiting Rabwah always reminds me of how much we take much for granted, not just our education system but the basic freedoms we enjoy in Britain. I’m grateful to be given such opportunities to serve the Caliph and community in a very small way and pray I can continue to do so for many years to come.

I should add that my better half again joined me on this amazing visit to conduct a separate training programme for primary teachers. That would require its own blog but she’s too modest to write one!

Thankfully Rabwah was not hit by the floods but there is still a desperate need for more help for the people of Pakistan. Please offer whatever support you can through Humanity First https://hfuk.org/pakistan-flood/

Leave a comment